When it comes to laws that govern Indiana adoption, trying to find a quick and simple answer can be frustrating. Trying to decipher what a specific adoption law statute means can be overwhelming. Our goal is to help you find answers to the most common Indiana adoption laws.
Every state has very different statutes that regulate how an adoption can be administered. If you are considering an in-state adoption – were both the adoptive family and birth mother live in Indiana – adoption laws become clearer and more definitive. However, if your adoption is a dual-state adoption – wherein the adoptive family and birth mother live in different states – which states laws take precedence can become very complicated. Obviously, in either situation, we advise that an experienced adoption attorney knowledgeable in Indiana adoption law should render an opinion before any action be considered.
As a general reference tool, the following information is provided as an abridged summary interpretation of key Indiana adoption laws. Most of these adoption codes have additional circumstances that will need to be verified and considered for each specific adoption. In addition, in state-to-state adoptions, some of these codes may not be applicable depending on the combination of states involved.
THIS INFORMATION SHOULD NOT BE RELIED UPON AS COMPLETE LEGAL ADVICE AND APPLICABLE TO YOUR SPECIFIC ADOPTION. IT IS INTENDED ONLY TO BE A REFERENCE AND NOT DEFINITIVE.
|State Code||Primary State adoption statute page|
|When can a Birth Mother sign consent?||Anytime after birth||§31-19-9-2|
|When can a Birth Father sign consent?||Anytime||§31-19-9-2|
|Who is required to witness consent?||Provider, attorney, before the court||§31-19-25-2.5(b)|
|When can consent be revoked?||30 days||§31-19-10-3(a),(1)|
|Is a court hearing required for termination?||No||No statute specified|
|Is there a Putative Father registry?||Yes||§31-19-5|
|How long until finalization?||60 days||§31-19-8-5(a)|
|Can a non-resident finalize?||Yes, for a hard-to-place child||§31-19-2-3(a)|
|Are Birth Mother expenses allowed to be paid?||Yes||§31-19-17-4|
|Is there an allowable maximum for Birth Mother expenses?||Yes||§31-19-17-4|
|Can court increase maximum Birth Mother expenses?||Yes||§31-19-17-4|
|Are post partum expenses allowed?||Yes, 6 weeks||§31-19-17-5|
|Are Birth Mother expenses required to be paid by an agency?||No||§No statute specified|
|Are Birth Mother medical expenses allowed to be paid?||Yes||§31-19-17-5|
|Is there an allowable maximum for medical expenses?||Yes||§31-19-17-5|
|Does the state allow same sex adoption?||Yes||§31-19-2-2(a)|
|Does the state allow single parent adoption?||Not applicable||No statute specified|